Chewy Gluten Free Cookies

I’ve been doing a lot of gluten free baking recently; I’ve been making cakes, cupcakes, cheesecakes, macaroons and a lemon meringue pie. One gluten free baked good you can always find in the supermarket is gluten free cookies or biscuits, if they are so easy to make then why haven’t I been making them?

The recipe I found for the cookies was simple enough and I chose it because it would produce the big chewy cookies I wanted. You can see the recipe here. There is an ingredient in these cookies that I personally would never have thought to add to cookies. It’s full-fat cream cheese. I’m not sure if this is because it stops the cookie from drying out when using gluten free flour, or if it is something we should all be doing to make our cookies delicious and chewy.

IMG_5027

I absolutely love this recipe, and will be using this when making cookies in the future. I don’t need to keep looking for the best recipe for gluten free cookies, I’ve found it. The technique I used to make my cookies makes them big and chewy with crispy edges. These cookies ended up being the size of my face, which I am not complaining about.

I made these and brought them into work for my colleagues to try, they could not tell they were gluten free and loved them. There were a few left over the next day and I believe a few colleagues had them for breakfast. My mom even had two in a row, clearly this recipe isn’t just good, they are so good that you have to go back for a second one.

IMG_4970

Ingredients

282g Plain Flour

½ tsp Xanthan Gum (unless the blend of flour you are using already has xanthan or guar gum in it)

1tsp Bicarbonate of Soda

1tsp Salt

2 Ounces Cream Cheese

171g Unsalted Butter, melted

200g Light Brown Sugar

100g Caster Sugar

1 ½ Vanilla Extract

2 Egg Yolks (room temperature)

175g Chocolate Chips

175g White Chocolate Chips

Method

  1. In a medium bowl whisk together the gluten-free flour, xanthan gum (if needed), bicarbonate of soda and salt. Set aside.
  2. In another bowl place the cream cheese, and then pour the melted butter over it. Add the brown sugar and caster sugar and mix on medium speed for 2 minutes with a handheld electric whisk, or in a stand mixer.
  3. Add vanilla extract and egg yolks (one at a time) mixing on low-medium speed until well mixed.
  4. Add the flour mixture that was set aside, mixing on low until just combined.
  5. Add the chocolate chips and mix again, until the chips are mixed thoroughly. I wanted two cookies that had no chocolate in them, so I did not add the chocolate chips until after I had taken the mixture out the fridge.
  6. Cover the mixing bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for a minimum of 4 hours, these can be stored for up to 4 days.
  7. If you want the cookies to be small, remove the dough from the refrigerator and let sit for 15 minutes to soften enough for easier scooping. I wanted my cookies to be big and flat so I left them for 45 minutes. I also added the chocolate chips last right before using an ice cream scoop to make the cookies.
  8. Preheat the oven to 375o/gas mark 5
  9. Line baking trays with baking paper, no not grease or spray.
  10. Using an ice cream scoop, scoop even mounds of cookie dough spaced several inches apart. I made 14
  11. Bake cookies for 11-12 minutes. I baked mine by judgement, I waited until they were wide, browning at the edges, with the centres looking just underdone. The cookies will continue to cook whilst they cool. If you want them to be gooey then bake for less time, if you want them crunchier, bake longer.
  12. Let the cookies sit on the baking trays for 5-10 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

IMG_5022

As I still haven’t introduced chocolate back into my diet, I made myself two cookies with no chocolate and add the milk and white chocolate chips to the rest of the mixture. The cookies were still delicious and baked exactly as I like them. I haven’t had big chewy cookies in so long it was great to have some again, and they were all the better because they were homemade. When you buy gluten free cookies they are always the hard crunchy ones, you can never get thegluten freshly baked in store kind that come in a pack of 5. By making your own you get to add whatever ingredients you want. The next time I make these I want to try adding coconut, or making chewy ginger cookies.

I found that these cookies last well after two days, but that is just how long they lasted in my house and at work, they might have lasted longer. This is another recipe that I would recommend making even if you can have gluten, they were amazing. It must have something to do with the cream cheese and only using egg yolk.

The last few cakes I have baked have been very crumbly so baking something that was gluten free and a complete success has given me motivation to continue baking gluten free goodies!

Leave a Reply

