Gluten Free at Harvester

When it comes to dining out I am really not that fussy (apart from the whole low FODMAP diet thing). I know people who turn their nose up at harvester, but they don’t know what they are missing out on. The unlimited drinks refills, the salad bar, the desserts and the classic, can’t go wrong, meal options. I’ve loved the harvester ever since I was little. Who else remembers when they looked like some kind of farming antique shop?

Harvesters around me seem to be closing down slowly, so, me and my mom ventured out to Crawley for a cheap but delicious eat. The harvester does not have a gluten free menu, but they will give you a nutritional information booklet for you to look through and select your meal. I didn’t find out until later that they also do gluten free bread rolls on request for the salad cart! I just assumed they didn’t, it wasn’t until I was half way through the main course that my mom informed me. To be fair the waitress probably should have told me too. I went for the ribs and sticky toffee pudding, and my lord, it was delicious.

Harvester ribs are always so good, they are really meaty, and the meat just falls of the bone (sorry if you are a vegetarian). You’ll also be happy to hear that their chips are gluten free as well. There were a few things on the menu that are my classic go to choices for the harvester, like the rotisserie chicken, but it contains gluten. It would be useful if the harvester told you where the gluten was located in the meal. For example, if it is in the sauce then you could just ask for the meal with no sauce.

IMG_4790

Now the sticky toffee pudding basically stole the show. It was warm, gooey and deliciously moreish. I find it odd that Sticky toffee pudding is gluten free in a lot of places (Bill’s is another), but not in others. But I ain’t complaining. When the pudding was placed in front of me I just dived in and totally forgot to photograph it. I tried to hide where I had a few bites, but I wasn’t very successful.

IMG_4794

You can also check out what you can have on the menu before you go to the restaurant to help you save time, click here for a list of all their foods, including salad cart items, which are gluten free.

Now I know I can still eat some of my favourite dishes at the harvester I will definitely be going back again, especially since it doesn’t hurt my wallet as much as other restaurants could.

Pip x

Save

One thought on “Gluten Free at Harvester

Leave a Reply

