Gluten Free Pancakes Recipe

I have to admit that when I knew I was giving up gluten and wheat, pancakes was not the first thing that I was gutted about missing out on. All I could think about was how would I live without pizza?!?! But, since going gluten free, I have discovered another round shaped food that I can still enjoy and fills me with happiness.

If I am honest I can’t really tell the difference between the gluten and non-gluten pre-made pancakes you pick up in the supermarket. My favourite pre-made gluten free pancakes are the golden syrup ones from Tesco (blog post to follow). The genius ones are also good, but I find them to be drier than the Tesco own version. These have been a great quick and easy breakfast for me. I’ll heat them up in the oven if I have more time, or pop them in the toaster. Once I’ve warmed them up I’ll drizzle some maple syrup on and chow down.

However, last Sunday morning, whilst feeling particularly low, I really wanted a full and comforting breakfast, but I had no pancakes. In fact I had nothing for breakfast and knew I was going to have to make something from scratch. I had eggs, milk and gluten-free flour – Pancake Power! (please let me know if you get the reference), and searched the internet for a gluten-free recipe.  I used this recipe from the Tesco website, and I swear these are the best pancakes I have ever had. You have to make these even if you can tolerate gluten, and they probably can be made with regular flour. They were so full of flavour and fluffy, whilst being light and moist. They were everything I had ever wanted and more. I’ve already told my best friend that I will make these for her one morning, because I feel everyone should experience these.

The man who discovered this recipe is honestly a genius, I will be making these again and again. I’ll still use the pre-made ones for my quick breakfasts before my commute to work, but these will be the weekend treat that I’ll make with time and care.

IMG_4761

Ingredients

150g Gluten-free Self-Raising Flour (I used Dove’s Farm)

1 level tsp Bicarbonate of Soda

1 tbsp caster sugar

1 small ripe Banana, mashed

1 Egg

175ml Semi-skimmed Milk (you could use almond milk)

Method

  1. Combine the flour, bicarbonate of soda and sugar in a bowl. Add the banana and egg (this will get very sticky but keep trying to mix it all), then gradually whisk in the milk, to make a smooth batter.
  2. Melt butter (or coconut oil) in a non-stick frying pan over a medium-high heat. Add individual tablespoons of batter; they should spread to about 7cm in diameter so you’ll need to work in batches. Cook until small bubbles start to appear on the top, then flip and cook until both sides are golden. Warning these cooked quite quickly so watch them whilst they are cooking.
  3. Transfer to a warm serving plate and repeat with the remaining batter. I tend to put my oven on the lowest setting, and then place the pancakes on a baking tray under some foil to keep them warm.
  4. Serve stacked and with your favourite toppings.

IMG_4758

Normally I add sliced banana, blueberries and maple syrup to top my pancakes. However, these already have a slight banana flavour to them as they are included in the recipe, but you could still have bananas if you wanted. I found I could enjoy these with just some maple syrup drizzled generously over the top. As I said earlier, they aren’t dry at all, so adding maple syrup is really just for more flavour. Having said this, I feel that these are sweet pancakes, I’m not sure how they would taste if you had savoury toppings.

Please give this recipe a go. I know I can’t wait to make these again. They are the real deal American fluffy style pancakes, and I didn’t have to whisk egg whites until my arm was sore to get thick pancakes. They were easy to make, so there really is no excuse.

If you do make these, let me know how you get on, I would love to know if anyone else enjoyed these as much as I did.

Pip x

Leave a Reply

